Establishment and Aims

Owing to the initiative of Georg Meggle, the society was founded in Berlin at the end of May 1990. Today, it counts more than 1000 members, making it one of the largest philosophical societies in Europe.

The aim of the Society for Analytic Philosophy e.V. (GAP) is to promote and communicate analytic philosophy. To this aim, we encourage the exchange of information, coordinate and advise on research projects, participate in research funding, support young academics and, especially, organise conferences and congresses.

The GAP seeks to be a forum for the exchange of information, in particular for analytic philosophy conducted in the German language, and to foster international philosophical exchange, especially with Eastern Europe. The GAP endeavours to make the great variety of positions in analytic philosophy more visible in the German-speaking world and to deepen scientific exchange.


The GAP’s statute can be found under statutes.

Executive Committee

The general assembly of the members of the GAP, which takes place during the triennial congresses of the society, elects an executive committee comprising a president, a treasurer, a managing director and five vice-presidents with one of the latter also serving as treasurer. The executive committee conducts all businesses of the GAP for the duration of three years.

For information on the current executive committee, please refer to executive committee. The current election regulations can be found here.

Honorary Members

Honorary members of the GAP: Hans Albert (1921–2023), Ansgar Beckermann, Franz von Kutschera, Günther Patzig (1926–2018), Erhard Scheibe (1927–2010).

Honorary presidents of the GAP: Georg Meggle and Wolfgang Stegmüller (1923–1991).