De Gruyter Award

The De Gruyter Award, originally donated by ontos publishing as »ontos Award« and now by the publisher De Gruyter, is awarded for an outstanding work in the areas of analytic philosophy of mind and ontology/metaphysics, and is endowed with €2,000. Works of at least 150 pages (in German or English), which have not yet been published and whose author is German-speaking or working in a German-speaking country, are eligible. The work can be published in the de Gruyter series »Philosophische Analyse / Philosophical Analysis«.

At the ninth international congress 2018 in Cologne, the award goes to Romy Jaster for her work »Agents’ Abilities«.

Previous award winners are:

  • Christian Loew: Causation and other Asymmetries in Time (2015)
  • Alexander Steinberg: A Chance for Possibility – An Investigation into the Grounds of Modality (2012)
  • Meinard Kuhlmann: In Search for an Ontology for Quantum Field Theory (2009)
  • Markus Schrenk: The Metaphysics of Ceteris Paribus Laws (2006)
  • Jan Westerhoff: An Inquiry into the Notion of an ›Ontological Category‹ (2003)
  • Benjamin Schnieder: Substanzen und (ihre) Eigenschaften. Eine Studie (2003)